The Fakebook Experiment

I'm a fraud

Ups and downs

leave a comment »

Happy 11/11/11! Yesterday my wife worked from home. I didn’t sleep well the night before. I woke up in the middle of the night and a thousand thoughts rushed through my head about all the things I was going to post here on this blog. I tried counting to quiet the screams racing through my mind. Eventually I did drift back off and ended up waking to a killer migraine. On any typical morning, I’m ashamed to admit this, the first thing I would do would be to grab my iPad and begin checking all the news of the day….normally beginning with facebook. It didn’t happen yesterday. After my 1000mg of Naproxin, pulling the covers over my head and an icepack to the forehead, when the pain finally subsided, I was left feeling exhausted and numb. I didn’t rush to check out facebook. I didn’t rush to checkout my other news sites. I didn’t rush to throw down all the things that just hours before had been spinning through my head. I may have spent a total of 60-90 seconds looking at a computer screen and looking back now, I think even those seconds were and anxiety reflex. I spent the day cleaning the kitchen, doing laundry, straightening up the kids bedrooms, making lunch for my wife, getting ready for dinner and just being in the moment with my wife when she wasn’t engrossed in her work. It was a fine day. A very fine day. I didn’t obsessively check facebook and the world didn’t come crashing down.

That’s not to say that I haven’t experienced a roller coaster of emotions about this new experiment.

Written by fakebookexperiment

November 11, 2011 at 8:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

